Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Greg Taranto,

Assistant to the Superintendent for K-6

Mr. Ken Crowley,

Assistant to the Superintendent for 7-12

Canon-McMillan School District utilizes the Pennsylvania Academic Standards, Assessment Anchors and Eligible Content as the foundation of the academic program, in addition to the newly adopted Common Core Standards.

Pennsylvania Core Standards

Pennsylvania Academic Standards

Standards describe what students should know and be able to do, as they increase in complexity and sophistication, as students progress through school. The Assessment Anchors clarify the standards assessed on the Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) and can be used by educators to help prepare their students for state assessments.

Canon-McMillan School District participates in Pennsylvania’s annual assessments to include the PSSA and Keystone Exams.  The PSSA (Pennsylvania System of School Assessment) is used to measure a student’s attainment of the academic standards.

Students in grades 3 through 8 are assessed in English Language Arts (ELA) and mathematics.

Students in grades 4 and 8 are assessed in science.

High school students are assessed via Keystone Exams in Algebra I, Literature and Biology

The Keystone Exams are designed to assess proficiency in various subjects upon completion of the curriculum. These exams are also one component of Pennsylvania’s proposed high school graduation requirements.